Lower Broadheath Village Hall
Lower Broadheath Is a thriving village 3 miles from Worcester, and 13 miles from the beauty of the Malvern Hills. There have been settlements in the area ever since the Iron Age but the bulk of the housing was not built until after the Second World War. The foundation stone of our Parish Church was laid on 5th November 1903,where besides the normal services it houses “The Hub” an area within the Church where on Wednesdays and Thursdays there is an opportunity to chat over a cup of tea, ideal for newcomers to the village, or if anybody is just feeling lonely. In fact some of our activity groups meet there to have a gossip.
On the other side of the village is the cottage where Sir Edward Elgar was born, now a museum, with its visitor centre which runs a programme of special events during the year. We can also boast of 3 pubs, a village shop,two boules courts, a camping site, fishing lakes, and opposite our Hall is the sought after Village Primary School.
Lower Broadheath Memorial Hall was built in 1910 and was originally called the Broadheath Church Hall in memory of Rear Admiral Britten of Kenswick Manor, nr Lower Broadheath, with the cost borne by his widow the Honourable Blanche Cecile Britten, thereafter titled the hall’s Founder.
At that time the hall was under the absolute control of the Founder together with the incumbent vicar and churchwardens of Christ Church referred to as the Managing Body. Following discussions between the Managing Body and the then Parish Council in the early 1960s the hall was given to the Village in terms of the land and building that comprised the main hall and the attached caretaker’s cottage .
In 2002 further updating took place to comply with the disability discrimination act.